Regional Reports
2019-2020 Northwest Illinois Trails Report
2017-2018 Northwest Illinois Trails Report

Trail User Counts
Blackhawk Hills Regional Council (BHRC), with the support of the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT), studies trail use in Northwest Illinois. Trails included:

  • Four Sisters’ Bike Path (Ogle County)
  • Galena River Trail (Jo Daviess County)
  • Great River Trail (Carroll and Whiteside counties)
  • Hennepin Feeder Canal Trail (Whiteside County)
  • Jane Addams Trail (Stephenson County)
  • Joe Stengel Trail (Lee and Ogle counties)
  • Lowell Parkway Trail (Lee County)
  • Oregon Community Bike Trail (Ogle County)
  • Sterling Multi-Activity Recreational Trail (Whiteside County)

Intercept Surveys
See 2019-2020 Northwest Illinois Trails Report

Greenways & Trails Planning
Each of Northwest Illinois’ six counties maintains its own plan for the development and advancement of land and water trails.

Future Opportunities for Mapping and Integration

  • State park trails
  • Water trails